Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Making way for the new game

SibusisoTshabalala writes:

Mangaung will not bring about any drastic leadership changes within the ANC. Three of the six probable winners might be new to the positions, but their place in the safari has been long secured.

Here’s the Big 5 and the Buffalo:

  • President: Jacob Zuma
  • Deputy President: Cyril Ramaphosa
  • National Chair: Baleka Mbete
  • Secretary General: Gwede Mantashe
  • Deputy Secretary General: Jessie Duarte (DSG-elect : stood uncontested and was elected in accordance with the ANC's constitution)
  • Treasurer General: Zweli Mkhize

A quick glance at the list will show you that these individuals are not only Zuma pawns in the game against Motlanthe but also accomplished politicians in their own right. Their political will over the next five years will be tested.

For the ANC to remain a powerhouse its leadership needs to deal substantively with key challenges - the rot of corruption, organization inefficiency and the inability to translate policy into reality. This is unlikely to happen.